The Red Road

How could a man in prison have left his fingerprints on a gun at a murder scene outside its walls? Detective Inspector Alex Morrow connects cases cold and hot, but all roads lead her back corruption in her own force.  Another Glasgow-set crackler from the masterful Denise Mina.

Read more...

The Poisoned Pawn

In Peggy Blair's latest crackerjack thriller, ghost-haunted Cuban cop Ricardo Ramirez hits Canada, where he must clear the name of a colleague who stands accused of murdering his own wife.

Read more...

A Man Came Out of a Door in the Mountain

Adrianne Harun plumbs the depths of rural despair with an eclectic cast of characters who face not only the traditional pitfalls of drugs and poverty, but also the malign supernatural attentions of an itinerant musician who might be Old Scratch himself.

Read more...

The Martian

Andy Weir's stirring paean to the will to survive finds a castaway on the Red Planet, as astronaut Mark Watney outdoes Jules Verne, Tom Swift and George Clooney in his quest to live and even flourish in this forbidding environment.

Read more...

The Big Both Ways

From its Chandleresque title right through its knockout climax, John Straley's Depression-era noir provides hot and heavy, morally complicated thrills as it tosses a male drifter and female murderer together on a bumpy ride across the American Northwest.

Read more...

I Am Abraham

Jerome Charyn's fiftieth book may be his best. Abraham Lincoln, known to his contemporaries as a man who loved to tell a good story, steps down from history's pedestal to narrate his improbable career with wit and charm. A bravura act of literary ventriloquism.

Read more...

Eliot Ness: The Rise and Fall of an American Hero

The name Eliot Ness and his struggles to bring down Al Capone have passed into the annals of pop heroism via "The Untouchables." But Douglas Perry's biography reveals the less glamorous -- yet no less thrilling -- truth behind the crimefighting myth.

Read more...

The Corpse Exhibition

Hassan Blasim offers his first-hand account of contemporary Iraq, in surreal short stories alive with awe, empathy, and a native son's vantage point.

Read more...

By Blood We Live

Fans of Glen Duncan's previous two books in this engagingly violence-and-sex-packed series—The Last Werewolf; Talulla Rising—are in for a rousing conclusion to the trilogy, as werewolf Talulla and vampire Remshi aim to reconcile millennia of hostilities.

Read more...

What's Important is Feeling

Adam Wilson's fierce tales of botched dreams, conflicted ambitions and naïve missteps make for a millennial Winesburg, Ohio,  capturing all the idealism and cynicism of young cohorts facing tough realities.

Read more...

Russians: The People Behind the Power

Gregory Feifer's decade as a Moscow reporter offers sharp insights on everything from Vladimir Putin, Edward Snowden, and a nation's sexual politics, to the enduring pleasures of Dosteyevsky, good vodka, and discovering one's familial roots.

Read more...

The Guest Cat

Popular Japanese poet Takashi Hiraide's charming fable depicts the enigmatic ways by which a mysteriously wise cat remakes the stultified existence of a moribund husband and wife who have lost all joy in each other.

Read more...

Inside a Pearl

Edmund White's recollections of his Paris years is a madeleine's worth of rich memories, as the author shares his vivid experiences discovering his sexuality, favorite writers, and flaneur's walks through the City of Light.

Read more...

The Sun and Other Stars

Brigid Pasulka unfolds young Etto's grief and redemption in the small Italian Riviera town of San Benedetto, where he finds an unlikely path back to joy in the company of Ukrainian soccer star Yuri Fil and his alluring sister.

Read more...

Louis Armstrong: Master of Modernism

Satchmo's iconic voice and evocative horn sing out in Thomas Brothers's trenchant study of Armstrong's shift from New Orleans sideman to worldwide sensation, while race, food, and romance form the rhythm.

Read more...

Thirty Girls

Susan Minot weaves the plight of a passel of teenage Ugandans captured by a guerilla group with the experiences of a Western journalist, offering a multivalent take on chaos and cruelty in a tumultuous country.

Read more...

More Than Conquerers

Megan Hustad's childhood as a missionary in the Caribbean and Amsterdam emerges as a staggering vision of televangelists, the allure of New York City, and one woman's wrestling with religion and her sense of purpose.

Read more...

The Improbability Principle

David J. Hand argues that we each experience roughly one miracle a month, but that each can be viewed through explanable rationality.  This bold new look at rare moments challenges the very notions of luck and coincidence.

Read more...

My Life in Middlemarch

One pivotal book can contour a whole life, if encountered at just the right moment.  So it was for Mead and Middlemarch.  Her triumph here is to make the reader care about George Eliot's masterpiece as much as Mead does, and recognize the broader implications of all such literary polestars.

Read more...

After I'm Gone

Baltimore gambling boss Felix Brewer vanished ten years ago, leaving behind both illegal business and respectable family.  Now his ex-girlfriend is found dead.  Is Felix back?  And why? Cold cases warm up under Laura Lippman's expert hand, and this one's no exception.

Read more...

The Sixth Extinction

65 million years ago, an asteroid impact brought a sudden end to the age of the dinosaurs.  In this riveting scientific detective story, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert follows the equally dramatic wave of biological destruction happening right under our noses.

Read more...

Extreme Medicine

Dr. Kevin Fong charts the symbiotic relation between curative science and daredevil explorers, as today's doctors invent new techniques to heal the wounds of every ailing Indiana Jones.

Read more...

Strange Bodies

A poor Samuel Johnson scholar sits wrongly imprisoned, the victim of a Silicon Valley conspiracy.  Even worse, he's been dead for months.  Marcel Theroux's surrealist ghost story ably echoes the works of Julio Cortazar and Stephen King.

Read more...

The Race Underground

Two engineers - one of Boston, one of New York - develop a fierce rivalry to build the first subway system in Doug Most's whip-smart true story of innovation in the 1880s.

Read more...

The Parallel Apartments

A pregnant Texas woman's odyssey to New York includes encounters with serial killers, opera singers, and a collision course with her family secrets.

Read more...

The UnAmericans

Molly Antopol's much-anticipated debut collects stories of estranged families from California to Belarus - each a compassionate portrait of political ideology's impact upon love's binding ties.  A Discover Great New Writers selection.

Read more...

Down to the Crossroads

Aram Goudsouzian's portrait of James Meredith (the first African American student at the University of Mississippi) and his 1966 "March Against Fear" is a stark look at the menace of racial unrest, and the forging of the Black Power movement.

Read more...

Caught

Lisa Moore's crackerjack heist thriller doubles as a winning character study of a self-assured drug runner,  on the lam and seeking escape from Columbia to Canada.

Read more...

The Flight of the Silvers

Spared from Earth's end, six humans are brought to an alternate timeline by suspicious immortals in Daniel Price's supernatural thriller, combining the best of Marvel Comics and the films of J.J Abrams.

Read more...

Piano Stories

Dubbed "a writer like no other" in Italo Calvino's introduction to this newly reissued short story collection, Felisberto Hernandez here emerges as an underappreciated master of magical realism in the tradition of Cortazar and Marquez.

Read more...

July 26: On this day in 1602 "A booke called the Revenge of Hamlett Prince Denmarke" was entered in the Stationers' Register by printer James Robertes.

Crime fiction legends Dennis Lehane and Michael Connelly discuss the new book that unites their beloved sleuths Patrick Kenzie and Harry Bosch.

advertisement