• FICTION

The Hundred-Year House

When a poetry scholar goes digging through the decrepit estate of his wife's family to uncover a bygone arts colony's strange mysteries, he awakens a tenacious monster: his mother-in-law. A wickedly funny take on aging aristocracies from author Rebecca Makkai (The Borrower).

Read more...

  • FICTION

Landline

What if you called up the spouse on the verge of leaving you -- and instead found yourself magically talking to his younger self, the one you first fell for?  Rainbow Rowell, author of the YA smash Eleanor & Park, delivers a sly, enchanting take on 21st-century love.

Read more...

  • FICTION

Three Light-Years

This translation from Italian of Andrea Canobbio's delicate, mature romance between two doctors (and longtime friends) who fall in love despite impossible circumstances sails on delicate, entrancing prose. Call it an episode of Gray's Anatomy directed by Michelangelo Antonioni.

Read more...

  • FICTION

Let's Go and Go On and On

Indie rocker Tim Kinsella's sophomore novel is a lively study of character actress Laurie Bird, whose memorable turns in the films of Woody Allen and Monte Hellman are unforgettable to fans, and a revelation to newcomers.

Read more...

  • FICTION

Short Century

Fans of Vladimir Nabokov and Philip Roth, take note: this tale of a disgraced neo-con journalist trying to clear his name – everywhere from Iraq to the Ivy League - smolders with delicious fury. Debuting author David Burr Gerrard here proves a newcomer to watch.

Read more...

  • FICTION

The People in the Trees

Now in paperback (and PEN Award-nominated): Hanya Yanagihara's voyage into the forests of Micronesia unearths a tribe of immortals, whose fountain of youth is shipped to America with deadly, fantastical results. A tale of magic, culture clash, and "delicious secrets... dark oily pockets of mystery."

Read more...

  • FICTION

The Fever

Megan Abbott took her genius for modern noir to the cheerleading squad with Dare Me, but her latest novel ventures into even more psychologically compelling territory, as a mysterious wave of seizures among teenage girls sweeps through an unsuspecting town.

Read more...

  • FICTION

The Last Magazine

This posthumous novel from award-winning journalist Michael Hastings is poignant evidence of a great fiction career cut off by his untimely death.  A scathing, funny, rollicking look at the end of an era for print reporters, drawing on the author's own improbable adventures in the field.

Read more...

  • FICTION

Granma Nineteen and the Soviet's Secret

When U.S.S.R forces arrive to build monuments on Angola's beaches, the locals (including Dr. KnockKnock, a ghost, and a pet alligator) rush to save their grandmothers' waterfront homes. Mononymous author Ondjaki delivers playful magical realism with delightful defiance.

Read more...

  • FICTION

What is Visible

A novel narrated by Laura Bridgman, the first documented blind and deaf person to learn language, contains exceptionally lyrical prose from author Kimberly Elkins, and winning cameos from Bridgman's true-life cohorts Charles Dickens and Helen Keller.

Read more...

  • FICTION

Fortunes of War: The Levant Trilogy

Discover why Anthony Burgess called Olivia Manning's expansive novel of a young ex-pat couple evading the Nazi Party "The finest fictional record of the war produced by a British writer." A surprising - often poignantly joyful - look at Europe's last pre-WWII hurrahs.

Read more...

  • FICTION

Midnight in Europe

Hemingway meets Le Carre as an eclectic array of freedom fighters try to outwit Fascists in the heat of the Spanish Civil War. Espionage virtuoso Alan Furst winds up the suspense in his taut, intercontinental spy story.

Read more...

  • FICTION

A Replacement Life

A journalist takes up a dangerous assignment: forging the coveted documents which secure Holocaust reparations for Jewish-Americans. Debuting novelist Boris Fishman places caustic humor on South Brooklyn tongues in this fearlessly sharp Discover Great New Writers selection.

Read more...

  • FICTION

Adam

When a shy high schooler crashes with his Brooklynite sister over one summer, he finds the unexpected love of his life: a red-headed, transgendered beauty named Gillian. Comic artist Ariel Schrag's debut novel triumphs in coupling evergreen youthful amour  with a unique and compassionate perspective.

Read more...

  • FICTION

Klaus Klump: A Man

A foolish-but-fiercely competitive Portuguese publisher seeks fame and fortune during the breakout of a wild (downright absurdist) war in Goncalo Alvares' offbeat character study, a pastiche recalling the heights of Roberto Bolano and Pier Paolo Pasolini. 

Read more...

  • FICTION

Stealth

Already a legend in his native Egypt, Sonallah Ibrahim has quietly emerged as one of our most riveting authors in translation. His latest - from the perspective of an 11-year old boy living with his widowed dad - finds poignancy in tragedy and vivid details of 1950s Cairo on the verge of revolution.

Read more...

  • FICTION

In the Courtyard of the Kabbalist

Employing modern Israel as a heady backdrop, Ruchama King Feuerman assembles a motley crew of lost souls in search of an ancient pottery shard containing First Temple secrets.

Read more...

  • FICTION

The Blessings

The death of John Blessing reverberates through his tangled North Philly clan in a big-hearted family saga from novelist Elise Juska. A Discover Great New Writers selection.

Read more...

  • FICTION

The Land of Steady Habits

Ted Thompson's humorous, empathetic debut novel finds satirical footing in the wilds of Connecticut's suburbs, where an aging hero battles the expectations of family, friends and breaking the tedium of his routines.  A Discover Great New Writers selection.

Read more...

  • FICTION

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

After the death of his wife and the loss of a rare volume, a curmudgeon of a bookshop owner finds a new meaning in the motto "No man is an island."  The witty and wise novelist Gabrielle Zevin has produced that most precious of things: a tale as entertaining as it is uplifting. 

Read more...

  • FICTION

In the Light of What We Know

Zia Haider Rahman's mystery of a brilliant Bangladeshi mathematician's past barrels through the Ivy League, London high finance, and spy-haunted Afghanistan in a page-turning tale of exile, intrigue and the price of friendship.

Read more...

  • FICTION

The King of Pain

Trapped beneath his entertainment system, reality TV mastermind Rick Salter reflects on his life and tries to piece together the events of the previous evening. Seth Kaufman’s romp is an outrageous meditation on pain and entertainment in a deranged world in which the two are often interchangeable.

Read more...

  • FICTION

Papers in the Wind

In this insightful novel by Eduardo Sacheri, a young girl left destitute by the death of her soccer-playing father is uplifted by the bold schemes of her uncle, his pals, and one newbie player to the professional leagues.

Read more...

  • FICTION

The Brunist Day of Wrath

Forty-eight years after the release of his eerie debut The Origin of the Brunists, iconoclast Robert Coover delivers a sequel of an ominous cult that forms in the wake of a mining disaster, spooking their pious township as they prepare for a worldwide reckoning.

Read more...

  • FICTION

On Earth as It Is in Heaven

Say "Italian prize fighter" and one thinks Jake La Motta or Rocky Graziano.  But Davide Enia's bold and colorful novel featuring a Sicilian lad who embarks on a pugilistic career swings big, with a brawling cast of larger-than-life men and women learned in low crime and hard knocks.

Read more...

  • FICTION

The Roving Party

Set in Tasmania during the early nineteenth century, Rohan Wilson's novel chronicles a despicable era of anti-aboriginal violence, with shades of Cormac McCarthy and Homeric tragedy for good measure.

Read more...

  • FICTION

A Man Came Out of a Door in the Mountain

Adrianne Harun plumbs the depths of rural despair with an eclectic cast of characters who face not only the traditional pitfalls of drugs and poverty, but also the malign supernatural attentions of an itinerant musician who might be Old Scratch himself.

Read more...

  • FICTION

The Guest Cat

Popular Japanese poet Takashi Hiraide's charming fable depicts the enigmatic ways by which a mysteriously wise cat remakes the stultified existence of a moribund husband and wife who have lost all joy in each other.

Read more...

  • FICTION

The Sun and Other Stars

Brigid Pasulka unfolds young Etto's grief and redemption in the small Italian Riviera town of San Benedetto, where he finds an unlikely path back to joy in the company of Ukrainian soccer star Yuri Fil and his alluring sister.

Read more...

  • FICTION

Thirty Girls

Susan Minot weaves the plight of a passel of teenage Ugandans captured by a guerilla group with the experiences of a Western journalist, offering a multivalent take on chaos and cruelty in a tumultuous country.

Read more...

July 22: On this day in 1941, on his twelfth wedding anniversary, Eugene O'Neill presented the just-finished manuscript of Long Day's Journey into Night to his wife, Carlotta.

Crime fiction legends Dennis Lehane and Michael Connelly discuss the new book that unites their beloved sleuths Patrick Kenzie and Harry Bosch.

advertisement