Piano Stories

Dubbed "a writer like no other" in Italo Calvino's introduction to this newly reissued short story collection, Felisberto Hernandez here emerges as an underappreciated master of magical realism in the tradition of Cortazar and Marquez.

July 23: Jessica Mitford died on this day in 1996.

Crime fiction legends Dennis Lehane and Michael Connelly discuss the new book that unites their beloved sleuths Patrick Kenzie and Harry Bosch.

advertisement